find a Clinician/Physician

History of ASLMS


In March of 1979, Dr. Ellet H. Drake began working with Dr. Leon Goldman to establish an American society to encourage physicians and scientists to exchange knowledge, explore new uses for present equipment, and generate new medical lasers and accessories. They invited 280 outstanding physicians and scientists from all over the world to participate in an organizational meeting held in San Diego in January, 1981, and as a tribute to Dr. Goldman, the father of laser  medicine in the United States, over half of them  accepted our invitation and paid their own expenses to come to this meeting.


William and Caroline Mark

The seed money necessary to establish the group was given to us by Mr. William B. Mark through the A. Ward Ford Institute. Mr. Mark died in October, 1980, and each year the A. Ward Ford Foundation presents an award in his honor to the individual considered by the Awards Committee of the Society to have made an outstanding contribution to laser medicine. The first of these awards was presented in 1982 to Dr. Goldman at the Annual Conference at Hilton Head Island, South Carolina.

It was the dream of the founders that this organization be unique and include in addition to physicians/clinicians, outstanding research individuals in the areas of biophysics, biochemistry, biomedical engineering, laser biology and laser safety. There was also a small group of individuals from industry included in the original charter membership. The idea was an immediate success with the Society showing a growth rate of approximately 40% per year during the first eight years with a steady increase in the number and size of commercial exhibits at the Annual Conferences.

From the beginning, the board established the fact that education both for physicians and the lay public should be a prime objective and asked their "Committee on Standards of Training and Practice" to formulate guidelines to aid hospital and clinic staffs in the area of credentialing. At the same time, it was decided that the Society itself would not be an active participant in the credentialing procedure. Another committee involved with post graduate education established additional guidelines for those wishing to develop laser short courses. Their recommendations were quite specific both as to the various levels of complexity and also for the suggested content at each level.

At the time of the organization of the Society two of its members Drs. Billie Aronoff and Eugene Friedman were co-editing a successful laser journal, Lasers in Surgery and Medicine, published by Alan R. Liss of New York. This publication has continued to be the official organ of the Society, published by Wiley Publishing, under the current editorship of Dr. Brian J.F. Wong.

Membership in the Society has grown at a steady pace from 150 in 1981 to 4,366 at the end of 2015. The home office has remained in Wausau, Wisconsin, with a staff of 10 employees.

ASLMS Timeline

Explore highlights and key milestones from over the years and learn how ASLMS developed into the premier worldwide organization  in the field of medical laser and energy-based applications.

  • 1981 - 1990: Laying the Groundwork




    1982-william-b-mark-memorial-award aslms-star-divider-line


    • First Standards of Training and Practice document drafted and approved by the Board
    • President Joseph H. Bellina, MD 1982-1983
    • Annual Conference New Orleans, Louisiana; 294 in attendance


    1984-drake-mark aslms-star-divider-line




    • Subscription to the LSM journal is included as a member benefit
    • ASLMS approved by ACCME to grant CME credits
    • President Gezo J. Jako, MD 1985-1986
    • Annual Conference in Boston, Massachusetts; 966 in attendance


    • ASLMS published first biophysics course book
    • Dr. Carmen Puliafito appointed as LSM Editor
    • President Kenneth A. Arndt, MD 1986-1987
    • Annual Conference in San Francisco, California; 1067 in attendance


    • ASLMS has members from 20 countries
    • President Michael W. Berns, PHD 1987-1988
    • Annual Conference in Dallas, Texas; 1051 in attendance


    1989-session aslms-star-divider-line


    • "Physician Member" category created
    • President Robert H. Ossoff, MD, DMD 1989-1990
    • Annual Conference in Nashville, Tennessee; 1039 in attendance

The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery is the world’s largest scientific organization dedicated to promoting research, education and high standards of clinical care in the field of medical laser applications. It provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information and participation in communicating the latest developments in laser medicine and surgery to clinicians, research investigators, government and regulatory agencies, and the public.

Connect with ASLMS!