find a Clinician/Physician

ASLMS Past Presidents

Don't miss our feature series with great insights from our brilliant past presidents.
President Term
Leon Goldman, MD 1981-1982
Joseph H. Bellina, MD 1982-1983
John A. Dixon, MD 1983-1984
Hugh Beckman, MD 1984-1985
Gezo J. Jako, MD 1985-1986
Kenneth A. Arndt, MD 1986-1987
Michael W. Berns, PhD 1987-1988
John A. Parrish, MD 1988-1989
Robert H. Ossoff, MD, DMD 1989-1990
David B. Apfelberg, MD 1990-1991
Michael S. Baggish, MD 1991-1992
Leonard J. Cerullo, MD 1992-1993
Ronald G. Wheeland, MD 1993-1994
Carmen A. Puliafito, MD 1994-1995
Raymond J. Lanzafame, MD, MBA 1995-1996
James A. Duncavage, MD 1996-1997
David J. Goldberg, MD, JD 1997-1998
Bryan P. Shumaker, MD 1998-1999
Marvin P. Fried, MD 1999-2000
Richard E. Fitzpatrick, MD 2000-2001
J. Stuart Nelson, MD, PhD 2001-2002
Suzanne L. Kilmer, MD 2002-2003
Joseph T. Walsh, Jr., PhD 2003-2004
Jerome M. Garden, MD 2004-2005
Roy G. Geronemus, MD 2005-2006
A. Jay Burns, MD 2006-2007
E. Victor Ross, MD 2007-2008
Brian S. Biesman, MD 2008-2009
R. Rox Anderson, MD 2009-2010
E. Duco Jansen, PhD 2010-2011
Brian D. Zelickson, MD 2011-2012
George J. Hruza, MD, MBA 2012-2013
Jeffrey S. Dover, MD 2013-2014
Juanita J. Anders, PhD 2014-2015
Robert A. Weiss, MD 2015-2016
Kristen M. Kelly, MD 2016-2017
Mathew M. Avram, MD 2017-2018
Eric F. Bernstein, MD, MSE 2018-2019
Dieter Manstein, MD, PhD 2019-2020
Thomas Rohrer, MD 2020-2021
Henry H.L. Chan, MD, PhD, FRCP 2021-2022
 Paul M. Friedman, MD  2022-2023
 Murad Alam, MD, MSCI, MBA  2023-2024


The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery, Inc. is the world’s largest scientific organization dedicated to promoting research, education and high standards of clinical care in the field of medical laser applications. It provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information and participation in communicating the latest developments in laser medicine and surgery to clinicians, research investigators, government and regulatory agencies, and the public.

Connect with ASLMS!