find a Clinician/Physician

Now accepting nominations for the 2025 Honorary Awards. The deadline to submit nominations is September 1, 2024. Learn more about ASLMS Honorary Awards.

Caroline & William Mark Memorial Award


William and Caroline Mark

This award was established in 1982 to recognize individuals for their clinical or research accomplishments based on their lifetime contribution to laser technology. It is given in memory of Caroline and William Mark, who were pivotal in the formation of The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery.

This award may be given to ASLMS members only. The award recipient will receive a plaque and $2,000 at the Annual Conference and will be required to present a lecture at the conference.


  1. A caliber of work that has achieved previous recognition from their colleagues
  2. Candidates should not be limited to individuals in academia but should include representatives from areas of private clinical endeavor

No award will be granted to any person if the award would be contrary to any United States law, including but not limited to trade embargoes administered by the U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control.

Support for this project was provided through the A. Ward Ford Memorial Institute Fund of the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin. 

2024 Recipient


Peter Bjerring, MD, DSC

Learn more about our 2024 award recipients.

Past Recipients

2023 - Christopher B. Zachary, MBBS, FRCP
2022 - Jeffrey S. Dover, MD, FRCPC
2021 - Yona Tadir, MD
2020 - Suzanne L. Kilmer, MD
2019 - Bahman Anvari, PhD
2018 - David J. Goldberg, MD, JD
2017 - Thomas Milner, PhD
2016 - David H. Sliney, PhD
2015 - Duco Jansen, PhD
2014 - Reginald Birngruber, PhD
2013 - William A. Farinelli, BA
2012 - James C. Hsia, PhD
2011 - Franz Hillenkamp, PhD
2010 - E. Victor Ross, MD
2009 - J. Stuart Nelson, MD
2008 - Richard E. Fitzpatrick, MD
2007 - Serge Mordon, PhD
2006 - Joseph T. Walsh, Jr., PhD
2005 - Lars Svaasand, MSc
2004 - Brian C. Wilson, PhD
2003 - Martin J.C. Van Gemert, PhD

2002 - Ashley J. Welch, PhD
2001 - Raymond J. Lanzafame, MD, MBA
2000 - Isaac Kaplan, MD
1999 - Richard O. Gregory, MD
1998 - George S. Abela, MD
1997 - R. Rox Anderson, MD
1996 - Kenneth A. Arndt, MD
1995 - Ronald G. Wheeland, MD
1994 - Marvin P. Fried, MD
1993 - James S. McCaughan, Jr., MD
1992 - Robert H. Ossoff, DMD, MD
1991 - John A. Parrish, MD
1990 - Michael W. Berns, PhD
1989 - Myron L. Wolbarsht, PhD
1988 - John A. Dixon, MD
1987 - Leonard J. Cerullo, MD
1986 - Francis L'Esperance, MD
1985 - Joseph H. Bellina, MD
1984 - Geza J. Jako, MD
1983 - Thomas J. Dougherty, PhD
1982 - Leon Goldman, MD


The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery, Inc. is the world’s largest scientific organization dedicated to promoting research, education and high standards of clinical care in the field of medical laser applications. It provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information and participation in communicating the latest developments in laser medicine and surgery to clinicians, research investigators, government and regulatory agencies, and the public.

Connect with ASLMS!