find a Clinician/Physician

Ellet H. Drake Memorial Award


Ellet H. Drake, MD


This award was established in 1995 to recognize a practicing physician who has contributed to innovative laser procedures and/or laser products for medicine. It is given in memory of Ellet Drake, MD, co-founder of the American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery.

This award may be given to either ASLMS members or non-members. The award recipient will receive a plaque and $1,000 at the Annual Conference and will be required to present a lecture at the conference.

The candidate must meet the following criteria in order to be considered for this award:

  1. A practicing physician with at least five years of practice
  2. Contributed to innovative laser procedures and/or laser products for medicine
  3. Contributed to literature and/or has demonstrated excellence in teaching on a regional or greater level substantiating his/her laser activity during his/her career
  4. Good verbal communication skills to allow for an informative appropriate lecture

No award will be granted to any person if the award would be contrary to any United States law, including but not limited to trade embargoes administered by the U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control.


2024 Recipient


Kristen M. Kelly, MD


Past Recipients

2023 - Eric F. Bernstein, MD, MSE
2022 - Fernanda H. Sakamoto, MD, PhD
2021 - Dieter Manstein, MD, PhD
2020 - Merete Haedersdal, MD, PhD, DMSc
2019 - Gerald N. Goldberg, MD
2018 - Jill S. Waibel, MD
2017 - Melanie Grossman MD
2016 - Mathew M. Avram, MD, JD
2015 - Brian D. Zelickson, MD
2014 - Nathan S. Uebelhoer, DO
2013 - Emil A. Tanghetti, MD
2012 - Brian S. Biesman, MD
2011 - Dieter Manstein, MD
2010 - Henry H.L. Chan, MBBS, PhD, FRCP
2009 - Suzanne L. Kilmer, MD

2008 - Jeffrey S. Dover, MD

2007 - E. Victor Ross, MD
2006 - Kenneth A. Arndt, MD
2005 - Richard E. Fitzpatrick, MD
2004 - J. Stuart Nelson, MD, PhD
2003 - Robert A. Weiss, MD
2002 - Jerome M. Garden, MD
2001 - Roy G. Geronemus, MD
2000 - George S. Abela, MD
1999 - Raymond J. Lanzafame, MD
1998 - Ronald G. Wheeland, MD
1997 - David B. Apfelberg, MD
1996 - R. Rox Anderson, MD
1995 - John A. Parrish, MD


The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery, Inc. is the world’s largest scientific organization dedicated to promoting research, education and high standards of clinical care in the field of medical laser applications. It provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information and participation in communicating the latest developments in laser medicine and surgery to clinicians, research investigators, government and regulatory agencies, and the public.

Connect with ASLMS!