find a Clinician/Physician

Excellence in Laser Nursing/Allied Health Award

This award was established in 1991 to recognize outstanding nursing and allied health contributions to ASLMS and the advancement of joint practice in laser medicine and surgery. It is given in recognition of candidates who have promoted laser medicine through demonstrated expertise, consistent professional conduct, and exceptional standards of practice.

This award may be given to ASLMS members only. The award recipient will receive a plaque and $1,000 at the Annual Conference and will be required to present a lecture at the conference.

The candidate must meet at least two of the following five criteria in order to be considered for this award:

  1. Three years membership in ASLMS, Nursing/Allied Health Division
  2. Presentation of abstract, eposter or case study at ASLMS Annual Conference
  3. Served as an elected or appointed position in Nursing/Allied Health Division
  4. Attained ASLMS “Fellow” status
  5. Served as faculty for CE approved laser training courses, designed for nurses and/or allied health professionals; and has published an article/articles on laser medicine, the clinical application of laser technology, and administrative components of laser use in the clinical setting, laser research, or other laser related topics

No award will be granted to any person if the award would be contrary to any United States law, including but not limited to trade embargoes administered by the U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control.


2024 Recipient


Lisa D. Basilavecchio, RN

Past Recipients

2023 - Renee Edkins, DNP, NP-C, CMLSO
2022 - Yan Duan, FNP
2021 - Kathy Keys, RN
2020 - Mary L. Nielsen, LPN, LE
2019 - Rebecca Sprague, RN, NP-C
2018 - John E. Hoopman, AAS, CMLSO
2017 - Laura McDermott, BIS, LE, MA
2016 - Mary Lisa Stoll, RN, BS
2015 - No Nominations Submitted 
2014 - Patricia A. Owens, RN, MHA, CMLSO
2013 - Laurie C. Grizzard, RN, BSN
2012 - Holly Bryan, BS, CCRC
2011 - Faye M. Jenkins, RN, BSN
2010 - Krystie P. Lennox, PA-C
2009 - Sue Terry, RN, CMLSO
2008 - Sharon K. Olson, RN, CNOR, CMLSO
2007 - Jeff T. Counters, MPH
2006 - Rebecca Sprague, RN, FNP-C
2005 - Judy Chamberlain, RN
2004 - Deirdre A. O'Hare, RN
2003 - Donna Gabriel, LPN
2002 - Mary Flor, RN
2001 - Susan L. Olson, RN
2000 - Dale P. Goodwin, RN
1999 - Patricia A. Owens, RN
1998 - Kay Ball, RN
1997 - Pat Durgin, RN
1996 - Vangie Paschall, RN
1995 - Mary Cayton, RN
1994 - Patricia A. Hartwig, RN
1993 - Penny J. Smalley, RN
1992 - Carolyn J. Mackety, RN
1991 - Sue E. Huether, RN


The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery, Inc. is the world’s largest scientific organization dedicated to promoting research, education and high standards of clinical care in the field of medical laser applications. It provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information and participation in communicating the latest developments in laser medicine and surgery to clinicians, research investigators, government and regulatory agencies, and the public.

Connect with ASLMS!