find a Clinician/Physician

Melanie C. Grossman, MD Award for Leadership, Mentorship, and Advocacy for Women in Medical Science

Nominations for 2023 awards have closed.

aslms-women-logoThe ASLMS Leadership, Mentorship & Advocacy for Women in Medical Science Award was established in 2015 by the ASLMS Women in Energy-Based Devices Committee with the purpose of honoring an individual, either male or female, who has significantly promoted the professional development of women in specialties using lasers and/or energy-based devices, through teaching, mentoring, organizational leadership, or public advocacy.

In 2021, the award was renamed to honor Melanie C. Grossman, MD, a long-standing member of the ASLMS, who passed away early in the year. Dr. Grossman's contributions to lasers and energy-based devices were significant and she was a good friend to many of our members. Her contributions to our Society and brilliance in her field will continue to be remembered through this annual award.

This award may be given to either ASLMS members or non-members. It will be presented at the Celebration of ASLMS Women in Energy-Based Devices event at the Annual Conference. The award recipient will receive a plaque and $1,000 and will be required to present a brief talk at the event.

The award is given annually at the Celebration of ASLMS Women in Energy-Based Devices event. Thank you to the 2022 sponsor of this award: CoolSculpting® Elite

The candidate must meet the following criteria in order to be considered for this award:

  1. Embody the spirit and intent of the award through his or her excellence in leadership, mentoring and continuous promotion of the professional development of women in specialties using energy-based devices

No award will be granted to any person if the award would be contrary to any United States law, including but not limited to trade embargoes administered by the U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control.

2022 Recipient


Macrene R. Alexiades, MD, PhD

Past Recipients

2021 - Suzanne L. Kilmer, MD
2020 - Juanita Anders, PhD
2019 - Merete Haedersdal, MD, PhD, DMSc
2018 - Tina S. Alster, MD
2017 - Jill S. Waibel, MD
2016 - Victoria Reggie Kennedy


The American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery is the world’s largest scientific organization dedicated to promoting research, education and high standards of clinical care in the field of medical laser applications. It provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information and participation in communicating the latest developments in laser medicine and surgery to clinicians, research investigators, government and regulatory agencies, and the public.

Connect with ASLMS!